danieleowensblog



Cover It Live Experience

Today, I covered the Stanley Cup Finals. Canucks vs Bruins. I love hockey. And I thought it would be a great idea for me to put my skills to the test and write a live story about what was going on there.

The Stanley Cup Finals is a big event. Primarily because Canada and the US are going against each other. Canada hasn’t had a Stanley Cup in 40 years and the US want another one.

The game was high intensity from the start. Tim was blocking shots while McPierre was defending his team. (You can read my story here!

I think that Cover It Live is good in some degree but I wouldn’t use it much. I think that it is good for sports, award shows and government. Something fast paced and always keeps going. And obviously, live.

I had the hardest time trying to use Cover It Live. The biggest thing I like about it is that you’re not just telling a story, you can have the audience interact with you directly. I think that it makes it really special and adds more discussion. You never know where it goes. And the audience can give you information that you may have not have thought of.

The thing that I hate the most is that trying to find videos and pictures and tweets is crazy! Personally, I don’t think it is that user friendly. It could use some improvement. I think it would have been better if they had basic and advanced settings. It was a little overwhelming trying to find things while a high paced hockey game was going.

Overall, I don’t think I would use it again. It’s okay, but as a journalist, I would turn this down.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * skellehan says:

    I agree that the Cover It Live interface wasn’t the easiest thing to get used to, especially when you’re in a time sensitive situation like live blogging. One thing that I didn’t see, or maybe you didn’t make clear, is your opinion about live blogging in general. Though your experience with Cover It Live wasn’t the best, would you be interested in live blogging using a different platform in the future?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

