danieleowensblog



Chalk the Town

I think that Storify is great platform to tell stories and is a giant step for journalism.

My experience with Storify was a very incredible learning experience. It was very frustrating at first. Trying to find things on the internet to add, especially Facebook, was hard for me. Because most people have their post and statuses on private. Unless it is something along the lines of an organization, then it was hard for me to find a post relevant to my story. Flickr and Twitter weren’t that hard because people for the most part make their tweets public.

I think that storify is so specific. That’s what I love about it. It’s made for certain people that like certain things. And the post and pictures that you get add to your story. I believe as journalism become more and more online based, we need to incorporate not just video and pictures, but post to them. To me, it adds a personal element to these stories. In a way, it’s for the people but also by the people. It’s the constant conversations and discussion between the public and the reporter that makes this special. I truly believe that this is the future and how it will be. This is a great change of pace for industry too. The reporter aren’t talking to us, we’re talking back to them and adding to it.

http://storify.com/daniele_owens/discover-lansing

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Laura Daien says:

    I also had some trouble using Storify, but not in the same way at all. I didn’t have any trouble finding people’s Facebook updates and Tweets, instead I had trouble adding substantial text to my story at all. I do agree that journalism is becoming more and more online based and using outlets like Storify will help journalists immensely. Although I really doubt that the basics of regular journalism will ever change and even though the internet is part of the industry now, news is still needs. I really hope that if we are using social media outlets like this one, that they will be made in the most user-friendly way for both journalists and the general public.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

